RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012

Trainer TIre Troubles

I've been riding an indoor Kurt Kinetic trainer for about 5 years. I recently switched over to a Wahoo Snap.

Here's the problem: With the Kurt, I had an older bike with Vredestein TriComps, 700x25 that lasted YEARS both on and off the trainer. No punctures (can you believe that one) and rubber surface still good.

Recently, I had to retire the old bike, got a Synapse 11-speed last August fitted with Schwalbe Luganos, 700x25. For the autumn, I rode outside and inside on the Kurt. No problem - yet. I picked up a Wahoo Snap smart trainer in February, riding maybe 4 - 6 hours total a week.

The Luganos are now TOAST! Rubber delaminating all over the place!

OK, OK, I know, there are trainer-specific tires out there, but, but, what about the TriComps and the terrific longevity?

So, my question is do the Luganos just suck, or is the Wahoo tough on tires?

Another question is, short of buying a spare wheel equipped with a trainer-specific tire, is there a decent tire out there, clincher 700x25 (no tubeless please), that can go either road or trainer? My LBS recommended Challenge, but they seem to be puncture-prone.

I'm tempted to put on the Vredesteins, but they have pretty high rolling resistance and might meet the same fate on the Wahoo.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2004