Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Tune-up conundrum

3K views 43 replies 26 participants last post by  blackfrancois 
#1 ·
I'm relatively new at biking and need help. I recently took my bike in for a tune-up and, upon returning home, found that the dynamics of the bike had changed. . . not so much that I had to shift down a gear but enough to make it quite noticeable that peddling was harder in each gear on the same routes that I ride constantly. Very irritating. The bike shop was no help. I can not determine what caused the problem. The shop that did my tune-up did the following things: new chain, new freewheel, new tires, new bottom bracket. Unfortunately, I do not have my records to determine which components are different from those that were replaced.

Which replaced components might most likely be causing this?????

Thanks for any ideas.

#3 ·
Difficult to say without more info, e.g. What cassette did you have? (gears on back wheel) What cassette did they put on? (likely exact same) What tires were on the bike? What tires did they put on?

Have you checked your tire pressure?
Have you checked to see that wheels are spinning freely? It's relatively easy to bump the brakes off-center (if the bike was put in the car).
Spin the crank backwards - feel for resistance

Still, guessing Pirx got this one right... probably in your head

#6 ·
Damn FF... last week you had a decent post. I thought you'd turned a corner. Oh well.

Perdido, just compare the old and new cassettes (may take a call to the shop), the tire pressure and that everything's moving freely - no rubbing/dragging - and report back.

oh, and ignore Factory Feel... we all do

#11 ·
Could be all of the above, minus the crank installation joke. I would go back to them and 1) ask exactly what they did (including comparison between any new parts and old parts on the bike), 2) clearly explain what you experienced and see what they say.