RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012

Vittoria Zaffiro Trainer Tire - Should I Bother?

Hello:

I searched for this subject, but did not have any luck. If this is a repeat, I apologize.

I am new to cycling, and plan on using a Blackburn Mag 3 I picked up from CL this winter for indoor training. I will be using my mountain bike, as I have not been able to procure a road bike as of yet.

My main question is: Should I bother with a trainer specific tire? The Vittoria Zaffiro gets mixed reviews on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Vittoria-Zaffi...=INBNODL6YSEPE), but has a good price point. Much more so than the Conti trainer tire's price. Would I be better off just using cheap tires? I am not sure how many people end up going through in a winter, or how noisy my current semi-slicks would be. I am going to try to get up to 40 miles/day.

Any input appreciated, especially on the Vittoria Zaffiro. Thanks!

Not a rocket surgeon.
    I ride rollers so my opinion really dosent count. Just get some cheep tire and you will be fine.

waterproof*
    I have a trainer-specific wheel and I put my worn out rear tires on it.
    * not actually a Rock Star

Not a rocket surgeon.
    Quote Originally Posted by Creakyknees View Post
    I have a trainer-specific wheel and I put my worn out rear tires on it.
    That works too. I usually cut them before that are way worn out though.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2010
    For as much as a good tire costs and how fast a trainer will wear a tire, anything under $50 for either will save you money. Oh, and don't forget they are quieter.

I have used both Conti and Vittoria. I liked the Conti a little better as it was easier to get on. Although, I only had to do it 2 times. Yeah, I got a flat on my trainer.
    It's a fire road.............
    I'm on a road bike..........

They have enough in common to blast down it.

RoadBikeReview Member