Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Walk of Shame

RoadBikeReview Member

Walk of Shame

I have been trying to do a 20 mile loop around a lake by me everyday/ every other day primarily to get in shape. I'm new at all of this and have had my 1.1 for about 2 weeks. First of all it felt like I was pedaling into the wind coming off the lake no matter what direction I was heading.

Then about a half-mile from my house, I got my first flat. Luckily I had a spare tire and cartridge on me. I watched a few videos last week about hints to change a tire so I was feeling pretty confident...

Things I learned-

1. The single tire lever I had was a piece of crap...snapped in half. I ended up using my sunglasses instead because the tire lever snapped in half.

2. The C02 cartridge makes a loud popping noise when I forget to unscrew the valve. I thought the inflator was busted and so was my hearing

3. A cop stopped to ask if I wanted a ride home, but my pride was too great. I eventually pulled up some videos on my phone, but ended up just walking it home and figuring it out in the garage.

I dipped it off at the LBS for it's first tune up and they said I wouldn't get it back for 6 days because they are just so busy...

Endurance Cyclist
    Mar 2012
    6 days for a tune up!!! Yikes. The sad thing is It's going to sit there until about an hour before you go pick it up.

Wind around bodies of water tend to really suck. They swirl so you always seem to be in a cross or headwind. I ride around the "lakes" in Lakeville, MA a couple of times a week and it's always like that.

Now that you were able to "practice" at home, you should have no trouble the next time you get a flat and trust me, there will be a next time.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2012
    =(