RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2009

Want to buy a Urban and Road Bike - Need help!

Hi All. I'm in the market for (2) new bikes. Currently I'm riding a GF Mako MTB. It's a basic model and a decent bike, but want to move up. I've got the cash and want to buy
    (2) more bikes. My main use for these bikes is: exercise, riding on paved paths and city streets and commuting to and from my office which is about 8 miles round trip. I got back into riding this past summer to lose some weight and I just love it... I have a budget of up to $1000 for each bike so $2,000 total give or take. I want something with a good reputation, and components. I'm 5'6" - 250lbs. For an urban bike, I was thinking of Trek's Soho S or Valencia or GF Katai. Any others in this segment you all like? How about road bikes? I'm very new to them. so please "educate me". Lastly is there an on-line store you all buy accesories from?

Thanks - JP

Burnum Upus Quadricepus
    Are you sure you need two? Many people use one bike for those two purposes. A cyclocross bike is an excellent starting point. Besides, with your budget you can get two so-so bikes, or one really great bike and change back.

Since you seem to shop at a Trek store, look at the Trek Portland to see what I mean. I own the '06 model. I can't say I recommend the current model. It's still a great frameset, but they've cheapened the brakes and drivetrain without reducing the price. But conceptually, that's the sort of place to start.

I've added a rack and lights to mine, and since I ride in all conditions, I took off the cute fenderettes and use real full fenders. Yeah, they used to laugh at me when I'd show up for a club ride on a bike with lights, rack and fenders, but then they found I could hang with the fast group, and take a turn or two at the front.