RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2010

Wet weather bike tips

Hi there:
    I'm new to road ridding, just went out to ride and the roads where wet,
    what should I do to the bike after the ride?
    what are the important things to look at after a wet ride?

thanks for your input

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2009
    First off wipe the bike down and be sure to lube the chain so it doesn't start to surface rust. Also make sure that you clean off the wheels to get any dirt off the braking surfaces and that there is no grit in the brake pads.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I'll add...stay off the roads when they are wet if you can help it...nothing good can come from it.

If you are feeling the effects of "cabin fever", left with no choice but to hit the wet roads, then be sure to wash your bike. Also clean the chain/gears. Next hit the chain/gears with silicone.

Stu

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2005
    Yes, there is nothing good that happens to a bike by riding it in the rain. However if it was just wet roads and not actual rain coming down, then it is not as bad. After the bike is completely wiped down. A good cleaning of the drivetrain with a de-greaser, then rinse and dry and apply a good synthetic lube. The best bike wash explanation I have seen is the one on the Purple Extreme website here http://www.purpleextreme.com/cleaning.html
    Sign Up For Free at Beginner Bicycle , a New Social Network Just for Beginner Cyclists. Win Free Bike Stuff Too.
    35,000+ Bicycle Parts at BikePartsExpress.com, largest selection of Bike Parts on the web.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by Stu_the_weak
    I'll add...stay off the roads when they are wet if you can help it...nothing good can come from it.

Stu