RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2007

what could be causing my right hand to go numb during a ride?

What could be causing my right hand to go numb during a ride?
    Could it be road vibration, or is the circulation being cut off some where?

Yet Vertically Compliant
    Likely ulnar neuropathy. Your ulnar nerve is getting abused (stretched, bent, and vibrated) due to twisting and bending of your wrist and elbow in your riding position, and it gets inflamed. I'd suggest getting a bike fitting, preferably by a sports medicine or physical therapist who does bike fitting. Small tweaks in your handlebar and reach setup can help a lot. Stretching the nerves can help too.

But I'm not a medical doctor, so my diagnosis is worth what you paid for it.

RoadBikeReview Member
    As mentioned ulnar neuropathy; are you wearing gloves? Gloves will absorb the road vibration and probably eliminate the pain.
    ----------------
    I am participating in the 2012 Tour de Cure to raise money to Help Stop Diabetes. Please Click Here to view my page or if you would like to make a donation.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2003
    are you overweight? Stretched out quite a way? If not stretched out too far , try moving your seat back a little, so more weight is on your backside vs your hands.

Cycling induced anoesis
    Quote Originally Posted by roadbike_moron
    What could be causing my right hand to go numb during a ride?
    Could it be road vibration, or is the circulation being cut off some where?
    Just your right hand going numb seems a little odd, but our bodies aren't perfect nor are our riding styles, so unknowingly you may shift your weight to the right slightly.

Numbness/ tingling is normally due to pressure, and there could be a number of contributing factors. Fit issues are a common cause, specifically incorrect f/r weight distribution, with excessive weight borne by the hands.