RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2013

What should I have done on my bike with 2500-3000 miles on it?

I have a Trek 1.2 and consider myself a newer cyclist. I have been riding for a 1 1/2 years and have 2500-3000 miles on my Trek. I have had no shop maintenance done to it. So at this point what should I have done to my bike? And how much should I pay for that maintenance. I have a Trek but it seems like everything is high priced! I have an REI store nearby, I'm just not sure if I should take my Trek there.

Also, I think I need tires (2500-3000 miles on them). Where is the best place to get tires (online), and what brand?

Thanks for any suggestions on my questions.

Jim

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Mazzulla View Post
    I have a Trek 1.2 and consider myself a newer cyclist. I have been riding for a 1 1/2 years and have 2500-3000 miles on my Trek. I have had no shop maintenance done to it. So at this point what should I have done to my bike? And how much should I pay for that maintenance. I have a Trek but it seems like everything is high priced! I have an REI store nearby, I'm just not sure if I should take my Trek there.

Also, I think I need tires (2500-3000 miles on them). Where is the best place to get tires (online), and what brand?

Thanks for any suggestions on my questions.

Jim
    chain is probably done. tires depends on which ones but likely as well. how are the break pads looking?
    Blows your hair back.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Hopefully you've been cleaning and lubing the chain and derailleur components. I don't bring my bike to a shop unless there's something wrong that I can't fix.

Your front tire is probably fine. They don't need replacement unless there is obvious wear.
    2012 Motobecane Le Champion Team Titanium
    2002 Jamis Eclipse
    2000 Specialized Allez Elite

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by den bakker View Post