Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

2015 Defy - rumors anyone?

126K views 360 replies 50 participants last post by  machoman 
#1 ·
I'm seriously considering a Giant Defy Advanced SL1 but I'm just beginning to hear the faintest of rumors re the 2015 lineup.

Has anyone heard anything re Giant's plans for the 2015 Defy?

#3 ·
Giant rep.
2015 will get a full redesign.

1. Disc brakes for all models
2. They are stealing the seatpost design straight from their XTC advanced bikes.
Giant-2013-XTC-seat-clamp | Spoke Magazine

This will give it a little more compliance to compete against the domane.
Test rode a 2014 Trek Domane 5.2 and a Giant Defy Advanced this afternoon. The Domane was awesome inspiring over a very rough road; so much so that I could briefly imagine what Paris Roubaix must be like. Yes, everyone can dream...

The Defy, on the other hand, was what I would clearly rate as the second most compliant endurance bike that I've ridden (2nd only to Domane and I've ridden just about all of them over the last year), however the Defy felt much quicker and more responsive. Climbing was an absolute joy (as much as it ever can).

The Domane was smooth and enjoyable but the Defy made me want to ride it.

Now I'm stoked to learn more about the 2015 line up. I've waited this long so another few weeks probably won't kill me.

Has anyone heard anything re Trek's 2015 plans for the Domane?

#6 ·
I wonder:

1. Will the TCR and Defy get Disc brakes?
- perhaps, but i suspect only the Defy will (test waters),
whilst both Defy & TCR get internal cabling.

2. Will Giant 'have to' use non-standard disc brake wheels/hubs
(as i believe the roubaix does) due to apparent chain line problems with 135mm rear hubs

#7 ·
My crystal ball says.

1. TCR will get 'aero brakes'. Defy will get disc brakes.

2. thru axle on the front fork of the Defy.

Correct, the Defy is a much more powerful climber than the Domane. Giant make the stiffest climbing bikes on the planet in 2012 onwards for sure.