RoadBikeReview Member

Planet X Model B Wheelset - $139

1650 gram wheelset for $139...

Planet X Model B wheelset - 700c

I ordered a set after reading mostly positive reviews...will see how they turn out. Should have them in my hands within week's end.

30 mpdb
    I've had my eye on these, but I've been wondering about the rim joint (welded / pinned / sleeved). Let us know when they arrive!

BONC founding member
    Jan 2009
    I've been rocking these wheels for over two years, about 4k on one bike (yes, the family rides on more than one set). I weigh over two hundred at moment, and the hubs have been stellar. I generally build my own but when a build is going on for another bike -to get somebody else cruising the road, it is hard to pass these up.

BONC founding member
    Jan 2009
    here they are in black ano
    The nonwelded joint is decent-

RoadBikeReview Member
    Just received these at my door today. Initial quality check seems ok. Put them on the truing stand and they are reasonably true. Maybe a millimeter off in one section per wheel. Nothing that you'd notice without a truing stand. Spoke tension on rear is very uniform--spot on in fact. Spoke tension on front is a little off on a 2-3 spokes, but nothing crazy. Will check them again after the first ride and re-tension if needed. Hubs are very smooth. The freewheel mech is loud--not as loud as King, but not quiet like Mavic. I pulled the cassette body off thinking maybe the pawls were dry. They weren't--they were lightly greased as you would expect. Springs probably just need some wearing in.

Rim joint is very clean--I've used high quality sleeved rims before (e.g. Velocity) and wasn't expecting these to be a problem. They certainly don't look like they will be--very smooth and nicely machined.