desert smouth
    Mar 2003

another handgun quickie...

A total noob question. If I were to get into shooting...

I'm from the country, so I'm pretty well versed in the ways of shotgun useage as a means of dinner procurement and entertainment (skeet.) I happen to be left eye dominant (but right handed), which meant I shot left handed. As such, I usually ended up shooting pump action 12 and 20s - because the semis would often eject into my right arm kicking the cartridge back up into my face. That was fine by me since all the guys with semis always had to fuss over having mag shells, or this brand, or that type, or else their gun wouldn't work. The freedom to shoot cheaper shells, plus less expensive guns was nice. I tried to learn to shoot right handed at first, but wasn't any good unless I covered my left eye. Inherently, I would otherwise revert to my left eye, which was nowhere near the sight line.

So how does this work out in the handgun world? Would I just learn to shoot with my right eye? Would I hold left handed and shoot with left eye, or hold with right hand and turn my head a bit more to get my left eye into play? Obviously shooting with the left hand often puts the tumb safety in the wrong place, no?

had it in the ear before
    u need one for each hand
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    you might as well have gone to Taco Bell and had a Zima while dropping a blotter and snorting Tabasco. OMFG. ~ttug

desert smouth
    Mar 2003
    Clearly, he's concerned about his sighting eye and safeties...

Call me a Fred
    Get a revolver. They don't eject any cases.
    Mike

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    You may starch my jumper
    Hang it upside your wall
    You know by that, baby
    I need my ashes hauled.

Sleepy John Estes

H

Failboat Captian