MWT
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2002

IT, cloud computing, iPads

I have a question for knowledgeable IT folks. I work for a small consulting firm where many employees are on the road frequently. They typically take a laptop and connect to our file and Exchange server through a VPN. I don't travel, but from all accounts it works fine. Nevertheless, some consultants think a cloud solution would be better, but I don't see the advantages - at least not yet. How is accessing files and email from a cloud easier than through a VPN? I've heard our current set-up is an "internal could."

Along the same lines, the firm's CEO is in love with her iPad. She would like to access company files - mostly Word, PowerPoint, and Excel - from her iPad through the cloud (she's been reading too many management articles!). I'm no iPad expert, but I thought the Office suite wasn't availabe for it? Is her vision even doable? Or, does it offer any advantages over our current set-up?

I'd greatly appreciate any advice.

Jerkhard Sirdribbledick
    If you get roadies on iPads you can get them connecting to Exchange via ActiveSync, thereby eliminating the hassle of VPN.

The obvious advantage of moving actual data to the cloud is you don't have the network overhead of a bunch of people accessing stuff remotely. But if you have a lot of people in the office it negates it, since the workers in the office would then be using a lot more bandwidth. I'm not on the cloud computing bandwagon yet.

As far as Office apps on the iPad, I'm sure there's an app for that.
    "He groaned when we hung the rope over the tree but was relieved to see the white pinata."
    -- Gut

RoadBikeReview Member