Maximum Gluteus

Land Speed Record Holder Breaks The Final Barrier: Walt Arfons

Walt Arfons, former land-speed record holder, died this week at at 96. Walt, and is half brother Art Arfons, were self-taught engineering geniuses. They were pioneers in building jet-powered dragsters and land speed record cars.

Land-speed record breaker Walt Arfons dead at 96 - News - Ohio

The Arfons brothers worked out of the back of a family-owned feed store in Akron, Ohio. In their prime, the Arfons brothers were lighting up state-of-the-art J79 jet engines (thinks F-104 Starfighter, etc.) in their back yard. (If you think that you have noisy neighbors, think again...). This was in the early 1960's, and the J79 was still top secret. The Air Force paid them a visit to find out how they got the engine (answer: the Air Force sold it to them...). General Electric (who built the engine) refused to give them manuals, so they figured out empirically how it worked, including the afterburners. (The Air Force, to their eternal credit, eventually gave them some unofficial help, as did GE).

Walt and Art fell out over Art's competitive streak. Art went on to build the Green Monster series of Firestone-sponsored jet cars that he used to battle Craig Breedlove (and Gene Leasher, John Cobb, and Mickey Thompson) for the LSR. Walt, sponsored by Goodyear, built two cars known as the Wingfoot Express. The last, shaped like a rocket tipped over on its end, used JATO rockets. While the car did not capture the LSR (the rockets didn't burn long enough) it was one of the loudest and fastest accellerating cars ever.

If the whole 1960's Land Speed Record battle interests you, and if you have an interest in cars it should, there is a GREAT BOOK out there: "Speed Duel" by Samuel Hawley. Page turner....

Samuel Hawley - books

But perhaps the most telling statistic about the kind of guy that Walt Arfons was is that he is survived by his wife of 76 years....