Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2004

Retirement Contributions, late 20's. Sage advice?

I'm 29 and thinking about trying to get more serious about saving for retirement. I have a small IRA that I've been contributing to slowly for a couple years. Have a few grand in there now.

I'm thinking for the next step I'll open a Roth IRA, given that over a long time horizon the tax benefit down the road is far greater than any tax benefit now. I'll probably be able to put in $3-4k/yr in there at this point. For a relatively small amount does this seem like a reasonable plan?

I have a killer amount of student loans (like a small mortgage worth), but I feel like I should still try to put a few bucks away now as well to take advantage of having time for money to compound. I should have my loans paid off in about another 9 years.

So, when you were in your late 20's what were you doing to plan for retirement. What do you wish you'd been doing?

waterproof*
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott B View Post
    ..thinking about trying...
    1) There is no try
    2) Set up payroll deduction to max out your contributions. Do it now. Learn to live on a bit less.
    3) Also set up a "rainy day fund" payroll deduction. It's not retirement, it's not tax sheltered, it's just savings. Put it away and don't touch it unless there is a real emergency.
    4) I was in a very similar position in my 20's and 30's, student loans, HUGE credit card debt (I mean, $70k+ at one point... more than my annual income at the time and for many years to come), mortgage, and ... 2 kids and wife at home. It can be done. Do it.
    * posted by Creakybot 2013 all rights reserved.
    * not actually waterproof.

RoadBikeReview Member
    that's a great start and something to build on as you can afford it.

with that, I would suggest using either Fidelity or Vanguard funds...low management fees, no annual "account dues" that I know of, that sort of nonsense.