Proud luddite

Risks of second-hand exposure to e-cigarette vapor?

A family member just started smoking e-cigarettes and insists that it's o.k. to do it in the house because the vapor is safe....and that those of us who are exposed to the vapor are not at risk. My quick stab at online research shows that there isn't a whole lot of research done on this, and the main sites that claim the e-cigarettes are harmless are, of course, the manufacturers' websites.

So since the Lounje is all knowing, what's the scoop....should we make the family member smoke the e-cigarettes outside or are we truly safe when being exposed to the vapor? I should mention that we have cats too, and we want them to be safe from possible toxins as well.

Not a rocket surgeon.
    Yah, smoking is smoking. Tell them to get the hell out.

Low rep power
    Disclaimer: I am NOT an expert on e-cigarettes.

That said, the major hazards of second hand smoke from regular cigarettes result from products of combustion, which are not present in the electronic versions. While I'm sure that there's some environmental exposure to nicotine from the e-version, I haven't seen anything yet that quantifies this (which would be really useful). If it were my house, I'd think about defaulting to outside use, but it wouldn't be an evidence-based move...
    We'll be back soon, there will be more of us, and next time we won't be dropping leaflets.

“The problem with quotes on the internet is that it’s hard to verify their authenticity” – Abraham Lincoln

Le Misérable
    It's probably not dangerous...but a) why take the chance with a highly-synthetic unknown, and b) smoking outside is a good principle, regardless.

Besides, it's not like you live in Edmonton: s/he isn't going to get frostbite.
    C'est dommage que je sois un ignorant, car je vous citerais une foule de choses ; mais je ne sais rien.

--Hugo

Living in France, le blog

RoadBikeReview Member
    Who's paying the rent/mortgage? That person should decide.