RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2002

Saloman XA Pro 3D Ultra GTX vs Asics

looking at trail running shoes

any advice?

anyone have any experience with these?

i love Asics but the Salomans look nice and reviews, for what they are worth, are good

thx!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2009
    Don't purchase shoes on looks, base them purely on fit.

The first time I went into a real running shoe store I was hoping for a pair of Asics ... I ended up walking out with a pair of Brooks (never heard of the brand at the time). He recommended that the shoes select me, rather than me select the shoes. I've since purchased 10+ pairs of Brooks road and trail running shoes since, because they fit my feet and have never induced a blister.

I tend to like trail running shoes that are a bit stiffer, the softer one's all me to feel the rocks too much.

Lets Go Hokies!!!
    I've been wearing the Solomons for a few years now. The GoreTex ones are sweet in the wet, obviously, but can get a little hot in the summer. If you have sweaty feet, that could be a problem for you. The non-GT ones are pretty awesome too. The lacing system works well, but both pairs I've had eventually the lace gives way at the toe. I just tie it back together with a fishermans loop and go on my way. Works fine.

I run on the road in Asics. I don't know much about their trail shoes, but I'm a fan of their road shoes.

You should try them both on and see what you think. Check to make sure the Solomon's are tight enough in your heel. You don't want blisters back there out on the trail.
    Its not over till you're underground

http://hokierider.blogspot.com

RoadBikeReview Member