RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010

Thoughts on Work from Home

I'd be interested in hearing thoughts/experiences on 'work from home' as opposed an office?

I'm kind of torn on if I want to do it or not. I just walk to work so really no savings on commuting and I'd like to maintain complete separation of work and home.
    But on the other hand if I obtain work from home status I then have the freedom to move anywhere and not have to worry about finding a new job.
    I should be able to save a lot on razors and soap too.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2013
    I have been working from home full time for three or four years. I went to the office last week for the first time in at least six months. Before that it was about a year and a half.

Advantages: no commuting in DC traffic, no paying $100+ per month for parking, way less miles on car (lower insurance rate, less gasoline, etc.), work/life balance

Weirdness: I have never met my boss in person, you have to get used to not ever seeing co-workers, odd to know people only by voice, difficult to get to know other co-workers

Disadvantages: work/life balance (you have to be able to walk away each day - else you work all the time to all hours of the night and weekend), IT issues, hardware issues, office supplies (toner cartridges, paper, etc. get expensive/very inconvenient to get from office), have to work even when the rest of the world is closed due to weather, your ISP better be reliable

You need to maintain contact with the outside world. It would be really easy to work from home and never see or interact with other humans - except the pizza delivery guy.

Also, you need a dedicated work space separate from the rest of the house. My neighbor works from home once or twice a week. She uses the family computer area as her "office". She gets pissed on the days the other family members are home (schools closed) and she is trying to work from home.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010