RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2010

MAVIC Ksyrium R-SYS-SLR Vs Mavic Ksyrium SLR

Hello guys,

I already bought Mavic Ksyrium SLR wheelset where the front wheel has Aluminum spokes and rear wheel has Aluminum and Carbon spokes. I didn't mount the wheel on the bike, so I have a great opportunity to return the set.

I am thinking about buying the R-Sys SLR where the front wheel is laced with carbon spokes, I am not sure if there are other differences between both version. The weight difference is about 30g, it is very minimal to me. The wheels models are 2012.

The question is, do you think that it is worth returning the wheels and get the one with front carbon spokes. Does the carbon spoke do any benefit other than weight reduction. By the way it would be the same price but this time I will order online. Please let me know your experience about both wheelsets.

Thanks

RoadBikeReview Member
    I have no personal experience comparing those two, but FWIW, the fat carbon spokes are certainly less aero...and they may be stiffer yielding a harsher ride without significant offsetting benefits. I would go with the steel spokes.
    ... 'cuz that's how I roll.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by looigi View Post
    I have no personal experience comparing those two, but FWIW, the fat carbon spokes are certainly less aero...and they may be stiffer yielding a harsher ride without significant offsetting benefits. I would go with the steel spokes.
    After a consultation with a very experienced rider, he said the same thing. the carbon spokes are better in climbing but Aluminuim is an all round wheels.

lets see other experienced riders on this forum.

Thanks for your time to answer me.

A wheelist