Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

OPINION:Motobecane Super Mirage and Mirage Sport Road bikes

82K views 50 replies 20 participants last post by  ctguy1955 
#1 ·
Hi everyone!

I am just getting into cycling and looking for a decent road bike to get started with. As a student I have a very low budget, I will be using the bike to travel to and from campus (20km daily).

I have also been looking at some new starter Motobecane road bikes both have Shimano Sora components. I have attached the following links to the specs on these two respective bikes. Any information anyone has on these bikes would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/super.html

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/miragesport.htm

#2 ·
Go with the "Sport"

choklit said:
Hi everyone!

I am just getting into cycling and looking for a decent road bike to get started with. As a student I have a very low budget, I will be using the bike to travel to and from campus (20km daily).

I have also been looking at some new starter Motobecane road bikes both have Shimano Sora components. I have attached the following links to the specs on these two respective bikes. Any information anyone has on these bikes would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/super.html

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/miragesport.htm

One time while shopping at Cycle Spectrum (the retail version of Bikes Direct owned by the same guy) I was talking with the manager and he told me that one of the ways BD can sell the stuff so cheap is volume. To help with this they really only order 1 model Alum frame for the entire Moto line up. This means that the $395.00 Mirage Sport has the same exact frame as the top of the line Le Champion. Heck they sell just the frame in the team colors for the same price. Team Le Champion. The only difference is the fork.