Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008

Windsor Wellington 3.0

I just bought a Windsor Wellington 3.0 from BikesDirect.
    I'm completely new to the biking scene so I have no idea what's going.

First, my rear wheel came really warped. I don't know if I should mess with the spokes myself or take it to a LBS and have them tune the whole bike up.

Second, I was completely confused with the gear shifters. The bike comes with shifters that are integrated with the break levers. The left lever moves up in gear/speed when I pull the break lever towards the right and goes down in gear/speed when push the thumb lever. The right lever does the exact opposite. It goes down in gear/speed when I pull the right break lever towards the left and goes up in gear/speed when I push the thumb lever. Is this normal?

Sorry if these are newbie Q's. Thanks!

-Ken

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sorry to sound harsh, but why buy a bike online if you know this little about it? It is worth the $'s to work with an LBS so that you can learn, get service, etc. Online purchases can be great for DIY folks, but I never recommend for newbies.

The levers work the same in the sense that the whole lever is pushed, the chain goes to the larger chainring/cog. It goes to the smaller chainring/cog when you push just the smaller paddle. However, the larger the chainring, the bigger the gear, but the smaller the cog, the bigger the gear. Thus, the two brifters seem to work in opposite ways.

banned
    I'll venture a guess: because the OP doesn't feel like paying an extra $200 for the same bike from LBS?

Anyways, My first ride was a Windsor Kennet (full ultegra, frame with CF seatstays).

Cycling gears are not that hard to work with. You must be an idiot to not eventually figure out how things work. The key is to have lots of patience. I started in the same boat (bought a new bike with zero wrenching experience). I then went to the LBS and bought this book: