RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008

Tour De Cure - Napa

Heading up there this weekend for the longest ride I have done since I started riding again. Doing the 80 miler if I can make it!!!

Anyone else doing this event?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2008
    have fun and good luck! and thanks for fundraising for a good cause. i've been a type 2 diabetic for over 15 years. Just about 1 1/2 years ago, my health was really going south with all the complications...then, I found cycling and i'm convinced it has prolonged my life! i've done 6 centuries and 4 metrics in that 1 1/2 year time and i hope to do even more this year! thanks again!

RoadBikeReview Member
    IIRC the course is mostly flat, so weather would make for the only possible struggles.

Was going to do that event last year, but school schedule had me go for the ~75mi Palo Alto event instead. To my surprise I climbed better than most, and got whupped on rollers when I expected the complete opposite. Being new to them, I was poppin' Clif Bloks like 7-gram rocks because of the taste.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2008
    Well - got the 80 done and I must say, it was a nice ride for the most part. My legs are feeling good and the ride is pretty easy. Unfortunately - unless they significantly change their rest stops I will NEVER support that event again. It was the saddest and most pathetic group of rest stops I have ever seen. Nothing but water to drink and fill your bottles with, food was just sad compared to all the other events I have done.

I will say that the food etc at the finish was great - but on course - terrible. They need to step it up BIG time moving forward.

Other than that, the weather was great except from some wind and I now have a serious cyclist tan along with the racoon eye tan that goes with it!
    ;o)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2005
    We have a group that was out there. This was the 4th year we've done it and it's always a lot of fun.