RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2005

Airborne Thunderbolt

Hello everyone, I am new here and have recently gained interest in road biking. However, as of right now I am bike-less, and have been combing ebay and other websites for the best deal out there.

Like I said, I am new to the sport, but would like to get a bike that will last me for a while. Basically I don't want to get a bike, and regret the choice a year from now (which I know is always a possibility, but I'd like to mitigate that risk as much as possible). Anyhow, it will be utilized almost solely for recreational use, and the only "musts" would be an aluminum frame, carbon fork and at least a shimano 105/ultegra mix of components.

Anyhow, I came accross the Airborne Thunderbolt, which they are selling for what appears to be a stellar price of $1100 plus shipping... Some details:

6061 Double-butted aluminum frame
    Airborne carbon fiber fork
    Full Shimano Ultegra 6600 gruppo
    Bontrager wheels

So, what do you guys think? Has anyone had any experience with Airborne, and specifically with their Thunderbolt frame? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

--greg--

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2005
    I'm curious as well, I am also looking at the Tommaso TCR 500 which is advertised on this site...

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2004

Only if you know what you want...

I have had my Thunderbolt for about two weeks now and I am very satisfied with it. It arrived quickly and well packed. There was not one scratch on the bike. Out of the box, the front derailleur rubbed a bit in a few gears so I needed to adjust that. Also, the handlebar tape they used is very poor and was replaced right away. Those were my only two problems.