RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2006

Rain / Wind jacket suggestions?

I'm new to the West Coast (Tsawwassen, BC)...moved here from Alberta, where riding in the Fall / Winter can mean serious cold weather gear, but not much in the way of rain.

I experienced a bit of last winter here, so I know that it's mostly rain, but still cold enough to warrant some insulating. What do all you local riders suggest for outerwear? I have my base layers, and wool jerseys for warmth, wind front tights...I'm just not sure if a dedicated rain jacket is best, or something more breathable.

From what I've read on the forum, it seems a lot of people don't like to ride in the rain...but I'm all for it! I have my "rain" bike set up, but just need to make sure I stay dry up top!

Thanks

PSC
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2004
    I have been using an REI jacket for the past couple of years and it seems to work good in the rain and with layering you can pretty much go down to freezing. It's pretty cheap too.

http://www.rei.com/product/771257

Big is relative
    Showers Pass Elite 2.0. Designed in the PNW for PNW riders. Kind of pricey at $220, but 3-4 tanks of gas saved will pay for it. Two tanks for my F150. They also make Elite rain pants, but my hour and twenty minute commute is just too long to wear a sauna. I just wear poly pro tights and let them dry at work.

Edit; I read about a product called "rain legs" that is basically rainproof cover over the tops of your legs that cinches at the waist and extends over your knees. I just emailed the company in Holland and asked about international sales. With fenders, a decent jacket and gloves, the rain legs look perfect for our weather.
    Last edited by bigbill; 08-30-2008 at 08:07 AM.
    Retired sailor

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2005
    Even though it's not outerwear, I'd suggest fenders if you'll be riding in the rain a lot- they'll take care of a good amount of the soaking you get in those conditions.

RoadBikeReview Member