Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: STP primer

Big is relative

STP primer

Since STP will become a popular subject here I thought I would share what I have learned from doing it four times. Please feel free to add your experiences.

I have always done the one day version so I have no experience with where to stay or the logistics involved in getting your stuff to some place near Centralia. Maybe I am missing out of some great fun on the two day.

Preparation - Lots of time in the saddle. I commute as much as possible and my commute is around 2:40 round trip so the hours in the saddle really add up. I started with a metric century in May (Rhody Ride in Port Townsend) followed by the Peninsula Century which was very hard (103 miles, 7700 feet of climbing), and the final century (Flying Wheels) before the STP.

Weekend of - Stayed in a hotel the night before. Paid for parking at UW, had no problems with traffic. The bike was ready to go, tires pumped, chain lubed, etc. Coffee and a pastry for breakfast at 4am.

Ride - Get near the front but it isn't the end of the world if you don't. Once you start roll along for the first few miles avoiding the edges of the street where cyclist swerve around parked cars in the dark. Pass people where you can but don't work too hard. Be patient until you get past the lake and then start using small groups of riders for recovery and then pass them.

Rest stops - Roll past the first one at around 25 miles. It's not hot yet, you don't need to fill your bottles. Eat something once you past the rest stop. Eat every 20-25 miles regardless. Keep your wits about you as you approach the first stop because some jackass will decide he/she wants to stop at the last second from the far left and swerve across the road while braking.