Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2015

Anyone do Bike + Weight Training?

I've been both lifting and biking haphazardly for a few years now and have gotten if not quite over-trained then definitely overreached/burnt out. I got a trial subscription to TrainerRoad just for giggles and have caught on to their amazing Ask a Cycling Coach podcast. I'm realizing that I've just burning myself out with no clear plan or training structure. I usually lift 3x week and bike 4x per week - around 80-100 mi.

After listening to the podcast I'm ready to sort of start over. I meet with a phys therapist in a couple weeks and am going to get a good fit first off. Anyone else lift and bike alot with a good structured plan? Did you have to go to a coach or put it together yourself?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2005
    Yes. My lifting is really an adapted physical therapy routine that was developed to help me back from an injury. Basically, it's core centric with extra emphasis on glutes and legs. During my race season it's maintenance to make sure muscles stay engaged and balanced. During the off season and base I try to build...

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2015
    Interesting. I'm wondering if I wait to put together a more thorough plan once summer is over - wish I would have thought to do this three or four months ago. Not sure how to do base training / establish base aerobic fitness - with summer rides fast approaching.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012
    Mine is same as woodys.

18 years been lifting regulary, 4 days a week, fairly intense 75-90 min sessions, every week of every year.

If I don't, the pain from the accident I had back in 2000 becomes overwhelming and I am off the bike.

Too much ligament and muscle damage, so other body parts have to step up their game, and cannot do so without intensive weight training.

RoadBikeReview Member