RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2005

Blackburn Trakstand Ultra made by 1upusa?

I was just on Blackburn's site and noticed the Trakstand Ultra. It looks like the 1upusa trainer, and the copy sounds similar (Centriforce vs. Centrifigual Pressure Resistance). Are they manufactured by the same people?

On a sidenote, the AirFix multitool/co2 pump looks pretty cool, also.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2004
    Blackburn is licensing the resistance unit technology from 1Up USA. The Ultra should have the same feel, also the adjustable height, but a much stiffer frame and a slightly lower price. I've been riding the 1Up regularly for 6 months now (intervals and stuff) and I love it, but I'll replace it with the Ultra as soon as it's available.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2005
    I saw it on beyondbikes.com. They have it listed for $299.99. Coupon code: THANX is good for 20% off, bringing it to $240. I am still debating whether or not to buy the CycleOps Fluid 2, so let me know how you like the Blackburn if you do get it.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2006

Ordered the Trakstand Ultra

I just ordered 2 of these. Was looking for a trainer for me and the girlfriend and got a price on these that made it impossible to pass up.

Only thing is that it has been out for a good 9 months now and there are absolutely no reviews for it on the internet and next to no mention of it in forums (this is the only thread I could find).

I emailed 1upUSA (they sell the Trakstand Ultra as well as their 1up brand) and the guy told me that this was essentially the same machine - except the 1up trainer had a couple of extras (I think a better release mechanism and a wider contact area for the rear wheel).

I hope the reason why no ones been talking about these is not that they were duds.. or worse.. or else I'll be stuck with a couple of lemons.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2006
    Cynan,