Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2012

Crit racing with A1 Allez

So i've decided to uses my Allez for Crit racing..problem is the allez is all stock component.Shimano 2300,What kind of upgrade should i make?I'm a newbie i plan to start racing problably in a few more months...should i upgrade or simply get a better bike?

I need recommendation for components,racing tires, and ideal bike weight for racing.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Crit racing with A1 Allez-cam00048-small.jpg  

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2011
    I think the best advice you are gonna get is to just go race your bike as is. See if you even like racing. After that, the best upgrade you can do is your own body, ie training, weight loss (if you have any to lose), etc. Work on that first, then start to look at spending money imho

I play for keeps
    As you just get started the difference between a 15lb bike and a 19lb bike is a non issue.

jlamb is right. Go race what you got. See where it takes you.

The money invested in entry fees will make you much faster than buying fancy parts.

You're going to want to save your scratch for the things that will keep you on the road; kit, winter gear, maintenance...it adds up fast if you ride a lot.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2012
    I've done a lot of group riding ,and watched a couple of crit race.Most of the bike i've seen were modified in some way,i spoke with my lbs dealer and he told me that the stock allez is best suited for training. The bike weight about 22 pound by the way, i'm not sure if that will matter in a race.

RoadBikeReview Member
    I'm gonna level with ya. If it's your first crit, you're likely to be dropped no matter what you are riding. Lots of nice gear also gets destroyed in bike races. Just sayin'.

Bikes make girls hotter!
    Oct 2011
    Spade is correct.