Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2009

The Cyclist's Training Bible: One Year Later

I see so many questions in this forum about how to become a stronger cyclist, I was asking the same thing just over a year ago. Quite a few people recommended the Cyclist's Training Bible so I bought the book and started planning my season. Just a little background, I started riding on the road in the beginning of 2008. Before that I would mountain bike maybe once a month and run once or twice a month, I wouldn't really say I was in great shape. I am 37 years old and I travel lots for work and work odd hours so nailing down my training schedule is tough. I don't have the next month's work schedule until about the 25th of each month so I plan from there and make weekly changes as necessary. Here is my Reader's Digest of last season:

I got the book in October of 2009 and made a very flexible plan for the season. I also bought a cheap Timex heart rate monitor and used heart rate for my zones all year. I would really like a power meter but have mouths to feed and diapers to supply for a while. Maybe when mom goes back to work that will be my gift to myself. I made some major changes to my training, before I bought the book I would always ride with other riders and I always rode hard. As far as racing is concerned I was Cat 5 pack filler at best.