RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2013

Question How Do You Know You're Ready For Your First Race?

So I'm new to cycling and think I'm almost to the point of entering my first race.

So how do I really know?

Should I look at the times posted for last year's results and go off those?

The problem is that I can't exactly ride the same length without stopping, so the actual time is meaningless. (not too many stoplights in a race LoL)

Also, I usually ride alone, so I can't really compare my avg. speed to what the race results are either.

Is there any real way of knowing other than just going for it?

Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2004
    Generally speaking, whenever someone gets around to asking the question they're actually ready to race.

Don't get discouraged if your results aren't great at first. But the sooner you start racing the sooner you'll learn how -- which is really more the issue than your speed or fitness.

You can practice pack riding by finding a group ride to join. You can try a time trial or two to test yourself. But there's no shame in being DFL in a mass start race if it means you're out there in the action.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2006
    I actually mentored one of our younger racers (19 yrs old) to do his first race this season. He wanted to start racing but also wanted to kick some butt.

We did the following:
    -Wrote out a winter training plan he started in January. 5 days a week of typical stuff.
    -Starting early March, he rode with our Tuesday group rides which developed both his engine and group riding skills. We even worked on echelons and TTT type rotating pace lines just for his benefit. Luckily, he was a total natural at group riding.
    -We also went on some long base rides where we talked about what to expect in a race, tactics, when is the best time to commit to a break, race course descriptions, etc. He asked a lot of questions and I answered them best I could.