a$$hole

I need help developing winter training plan with power. First race March 27, 2011

I'll make this short and sweet. I've been riding for 2 years as of 2 months ago. Just received my Powertap one week ago. Currently getting used to seeing wattage. Haven't done official testing yet, but training is testing, testing is training. I've read Hunter and Andy Coggan's bible, and am currently re-reading it. So I'm now familiar with the concepts of training with power. I just need to figure out an actual training plan.

Two nights this week on the trainer in a 76 degree room with only an overhead ceiling fan I've managed 210 watts for 50 minutes. Next day on the road the same 210 watts felt like 150 watts on the trainer. (weird the difference in feeling on the trainer and on the road, but that's an entirely different topic). I'm guessing my real FTP is going to be 230ish... if not a bit higher? I'll know in the next week or so after I have a chance to rest properly and then get on the road and do some real testing. I'm 71kg so if it's only 210w I'm looking at at least 3w/kg.

I plan to start racing next year, cat 5. My first crit will be March 27 2011. So basically 4 and a half months until then. I have 10-15 hours available per week to ride as follows:

3 hours each day on Saturdays and Sundays
    3 hours each day on two days of the week
    1-2 hours one day of the week (this is a work day and I usually use this day for interval work on the trainer after I get home from work which is usually around 8pm; too late to get on the road)

Two days of the week I'm basically unable to ride due to work. I work three 12 hour days per week.

Any ideas how I should proceed with training, starting NOW, to be ready to start racing next year, starting March 27?

RoadBikeReview Member
    One workout system that worked very well for me this year went something like this:

Day 1: 2 or 3 by 20 minutes at 95-100% of threshold
    Day 2: 2 or 3 by 20 At 90-94% of Threshold