RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2007

new bike—fierte steel?

I'm in the market for a first road bike and can spend in the $2500 range. Most of the bikes in that price point are carbon--I've ridden the LeMond Zurich and will test ride a Cannondale Synapse and even a CAAD for comparison with aluminum. I'm intrigued by the Serotta steel, however, which one of the LBS's I like carries and is in this price point.

A few questions:
    1. I'm new to riding (less than a year) but love it. I commute up to 3 times a week (more in the summer), around 7 miles round trip, go for longer rides (25-50 miles) twice a week, and hope to get into events and centuries this summer. I like to push myself and climb hard--is the steel a viable option for this? Obvioiusly it's durable; will weight differences mean anything to me?

2. Do components vary on the stock Serotta frame depending on the bike shop, or is there a standard package for the Fierte?

3. How would Fierte riders talk me into the Fierte?

Looking forward to riding all of these and upgrading from my current bike, a 1982 Schwinn Voyager loaner that I've actually come to love.

Thanks.

Pluto
    There are many good bikes out there but I do have the Fierte 2005 model. I like the bike and while i am not at a race level I do well on group rides with class A and B riders. Recnetly I tried a titanium Ligthspeed at a LBS. I expected to be really impressed and then opening up my check book and buying another bike. To my surprise I like my Steel Fierte better. Granted there are other variable such as wheeels, Fit and etc but over all I was convinced that I had no need to buy that bike. I will likely try a high end carbon bike in the future to see how they ride. I am also interested in trying a time trial bike. If I was to do it again I would likely upgrade to the custom size steel model. Good luck with what ever you choose.

Pluto