Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Two grocery bags on a bike... Baskets? Trailer?

4K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  buck-50 
#1 ·
I've been riding to the commuter rail every day for a couple years with no problem. But I've always had a car to borrow for errands, grocery runs, etc. What's the easiest way to do without the car altogether? I'm thinking a couple heavy grocery bags on my cheap fixie commuter...

Fold out "pannier" baskets? I've seen some that looked just the right size. A trailer? Nashbar has one for $70 now, but it looks like cheap crap. And the higher end trailers are mighty pricey. I even wondered about a large handlebar basket like I've seen some bike messengers use, but they look kind of clumsy.

Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated...

#2 ·
IMHO, any trailer is better than anything mounted on the bike for carrying heavy stuff. I have a kid's trailer, a cargo trailer, and a pet trailer... all Burley. I think the cheaper ones would do just fine tho. I bought the Burley kids' trailer 20 years ago, and it was just easier to have a single hitch setup as I acquired the others. I prefer the two-wheeled variety over the "Bob" style, although I don't think there's anything wrong with a Nashbar cargo trailer. With a two-wheeled trailer, you don't have to carry or balance the load as you ride like you do with panniers or a single wheel trailer.

Here's a pretty inexpensive cargo trailer on Amazon.com...

Let us know what you decide.

#3 ·
Panniers work fine on my fixie rain/utility bike. If it were more than 2 or 3 miles to the grocery store the handling issues might be a concern, but it's no big deal for a short ride. You're gonna be slow pulling trailer, too.