Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Giro Atmos helmet uncomfortable??

11K views 27 replies 26 participants last post by  triumph3banger 
#1 ·
I am not a newbie and I have worn a number of helmets. I bought a new Giro Atmos helmet a few months ago and I just can't get the helmet to feel comfortable.

I should clarify, it's not the helmet it's the strap. It's actually the strap on the right side of my face. No matter what I do, I can't get it to lay flat so when I ride it digs into my face right in front of my ear.

I have tried to adjust the strap and just about every other adjustment. I tried a Specialized Prevail and that helmet felt awesome!

Does anyone have this problem??

#5 ·
I wonder if there's a way to use some Shoe Goo & glue the strap a tiny bit forward, or backward if that's the case, to the inside of the helmet. You wouldn't want to move it very far as that might effect its effectiveness in a crash. might be worth a try. If it were me I'd try it out 1st using a piece of duct tape. If it worked then I'd use the Shoe Goo. Shoe Goo is strong but completely removable.

#6 ·
I've got two Atmos and both are very comfortable and I've had no issues with the straps. I always take the time to adjust the straps before I take them out for a ride.

Peace :cool:

#9 ·
I have an Atmos. Got it a couple months ago. I have a similar issue. Does the same thing, but on the left side of my face and ear. Fiddled with every adjustment. No solution yet.

#13 ·
I was able to solve that problem to my satisfaction by sliding the straps by each other. That put the Y was forward of the original position. I guess my ears are in a different place than Giro expected.

I have a different problem with the Atmos helmet. It keeps sliding forward. I guess the adjuster in the back turns loose. It's not as bad when I don't wear a headband, but that's rare because of the heat.

#15 ·
I've got the Atmos. I bought it after running over my Ionos in my driveway. Don't ask.