Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012

2013 Allez Apex vs. 2013 Tarmac Mid- Compact

Looking for my first road bike to supplant my current mountain bike. I can't always make it to the local trails, so I'd like something that I can ride on the road and be comfortable in.

My LBS is selling an old mountain bike of mine that I upgraded from. Its already hit the $1k reserve price so I know that I'll be taking home about $800. It'll probably sell for a little higher given that the listing has 6 days left on it. I'll be using the cash from this deal to fund the purchase.

So my LBS can give me the Apex for $1,300 and the Tarmac for $1,500. However the Allez will most likely come with the better components versus the Tarmac. Since I am new to road bikes, should I go with the better frame or go with the better components?

Or is the Apex too much bike for me and should I stick to the Elite which I can take home for $975?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Allez and Tarmac are racing bikes...you plan on racing every weekend? If you are just looking to ride on the road/paved trails I'd look at the Roubaix and/or Secteur. These bikes have an endurance geometry (shorter top tube, higher head tube, lower bottom bracket and longer wheelbase) and are designed with more vertical compliance than a traditional race bike. For the average rider these bikes will be equally fast and efficient as the race bikes but leave you feeling much more comfortable after and during the ride.

But if your going to be racing then a Tarmac Mid for $1500 is a great deal (cheapest Mid is $2200 MSRP).
    Last edited by RyleyinSTL; 08-28-2012 at 11:37 AM.
    ---
    Trek Domane 5.2
    Cannondale Rush SL

RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by RyleyinSTL View Post