RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2005

Are disc brakes necessary?

I'm starting to shop for a tandem. I was hoping to find a good used one, but they seem to be hard to find.

One question I have is about brakes. I've been told that disc brakes are almost a necessity. We do live in a fairly hilly area, so I'm inclined to believe it, but I wanted a few opinions. Finding a tandem is enough of a challenge. Finding one with disc brakes seems near impossible. Do I need to suck it up and buy new or can I buy a used one w/o disc brakes?

How feasible is it to add disc brakes? New fork, new wheelset? How much $$$?

Thanks

Cat 6 rider
    Some tandems come with a drum 'descending' brake. If you live in a hilly area you'll probably either want disc brakes, or rim brakes AND a drum brake. If you count on rim brakes alone you can overheat the rims and cause blowouts- very bad when you're having a hard time controlling your speed anyway. I'm no tandem expert, but as I understand it, when there's a drum, the stoker controls it, the captain controls the rim brakes. The drum is generally used as a 'drag brake' to keep speed from becoming excessive on descents.
    To the troll mobile, away...

Carbon Fiber = Explode!
    disc brakes aren't too pricey assuming you stick to the mechanical road ones BB5/BB7

shouldn't cost more than 100 a set. Hydraulic is for MTB and usually are pretty pricey as well in terms of maintenance.

Mech disc and drum FTW.
    '09 Voodoo Wazoo
    '08 Pedal Force RS2
    '06 Raleigh Cadent 5.0
    '01 Trek 4300 MTB
    '93 Norco Nitro MTB Touring
    '88 Schwinn Prelude Fixie
    1 hour of running = 1 hour of wasted time when you could have been riding. - Alaska Mike

RoadBikeReview Member
    Sep 2005
    I'm not so worried about the cost of the brakes themselves, I assumed it would require a whole new wheelset, possibly a fork, and the frame may not even be capable of mounting the caliper in the rear. I thought it could get expensive quickly.