RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2005

Aero-carbon wheels...can clydesdales ride them?

Can clydesdales ride any of these new carbon/aero wheelsets in the 40-50mm. profiles without a safety net? What determines a strong aero-carbon wheel from a not so? is it spoke count,hubs,quality of the carbon rim build??? or just everything working together well?
    I have no intension of racing,just training rides.
    thx's!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2013
    I have been riding a set of DA 7850 C50's for the past two years without any problems. I weigh 230lbs. In general, though I would look at mfg. specs and most will state a rider weight limit. I also have a pair of DA c24's that have couple thousand miles on with no problems. I think shimano dura ace and mavic do not have weight limits on many of their wheels.

Online Wheel Builder
    All great questions. Durability and strength are determined by many different factors. Spoke count, lacing pattern, and rim design all have a significant effect on how suited a wheelset may be for you.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Carverbiker View Post
    I have been riding a set of DA 7850 C50's for the past two years without any problems. I weigh 230lbs. In general, though I would look at mfg. specs and most will state a rider weight limit. I also have a pair of DA c24's that have couple thousand miles on with no problems. I think shimano dura ace and mavic do not have weight limits on many of their wheels.
    Just consider this: Wheels that don't have claimed weight limits don't necessarily mean that they don't have weight limits. If you don't claim a weight limit, you save a lot in liability. For example, I had a 250 lb. rider is riding a set of Zipp 404 Maxx and they fail, there is a liability. the wheels are rated at 275 lbs. I'm sure that there is some responsibility with a wheelset with no claimed weight limit, but the lines aren't as clear.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010