Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Basic Tire Changing Question

2K views 17 replies 12 participants last post by  tinball 
#1 ·
While I am basically a mechanical newbie WRT cycling, I have changed a number of tires/tubes in my short cycling life. But every tire reinstall has been a "take-off/back on" as my tire purchases had been through a local LBS and the initial install was done by them.

I am going to try some Vittoria Corsa Evo CX'es that just arrived. And this is the first time that I have encountered "perfectly flat tires". Everything that I had re-installed to date was "shaped like a tire" (clinchers obviously). In installing these things do you just fold them up into a tire shape and work them on like the tires that I used to? I assume that I can figure this out, but wondered if there were tricks, techniques, or issues to be dealt with here?

Thanks.

dave

#2 ·
It will take care of itself. Once you have the first bead over the rim's edge, it will look like the tire you expect.

#5 ·
Agreed. No big deal.

There ARE a few tricks, like adding a little air beforehand, staying away from tire levers and aligning the sidewall markings (brand/model) with the valve stem. That way, if you get a flat, you can use the tube to estimate where the puncture occurred on the tire and check that spot for debris, thorns, etc.

The folks at Performance have a nice "how to" series. You may want to view it just to make sure you're doing all those little things to ensure problem-free rides.

#6 ·
For new tires I go around the tire and put it into 'tire shape'. It doesn't take long and makes mounting the first bead, and getting the tube in, both a bit easier.

New tires will be tighter than tires that have been inflated on a wheel.

I use tire levers to mount tires that are too tight to mount by hand. I haven't holed a tube with a lever yet and I have mounted a lot of tires. Just pay attention to where the tube is and stuff it up into the tire if it's close to the bead.

#7 ·