wow
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2005

Bontrager XXX Lite Carbon Team Tubular

My LBS will sell me a set of these wheels for 1k. I am very tempted to go for it other than the fact that I have no experience with tubular tires. They would be great for racing but what about everyday use. If i spend this much money on wheels and tires I will want to ride them all the time.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004
    i would buy them no ?s
    if you dont, please give me the number so i can

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2006
    wow: i wouldn't do it. tubular is for racing only. XXX-light use primary for climbing. on flats/descent you'll lose alot of time. since you want to use it as daily ride, it's better to go for Mavic ES or bontrager X-light and you'll still have some money left for something else. not to mention those two are very good for climbing too and of course excellent on descent/flat. GL!!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004
    they are one of the best rims made by bontrager, thats a sweet price. I have a set of x lites, i would love to have a set of those rims more

attaque tous le temp
    Nov 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by z ken
    wow: i wouldn't do it. tubular is for racing only. XXX-light use primary for climbing. on flats/descent you'll lose alot of time. since you want to use it as daily ride, it's better to go for Mavic ES or bontrager X-light and you'll still have some money left for something else. not to mention those two are very good for climbing too and of course excellent on descent/flat. GL!!
    yes - tubulars are "racing only" for most....since clinchers are widely availible and a spare tube is easier to carry than a full tire...however people used to only have tubulars, and they trained on them, and i know some people that have old rims laced to modern 105 level hubs, with good, touring or training tubulars they train on only....