Thread: Burping tires

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2015

Burping tires

I'm new to the road tubeless game. I've been using MTB tubeless for years without issue, and it's what I'm used to. With that being the case, is it normal for a road tubeless tire in a road tubeless rim to be able to be burped with a thumb at ~80psi? That is certainly not the case with an MTB tire, even at 15-20psi. Those are very difficult to pop off of the bead. The road setup feels much less secure, and it seems wrong.

I'm using a Hutchinson Sector 28, Easton EA90 SL wheel, and Conti Revo sealant. It all installed OK with a floor pump... not as simple and quick as a MTB tire, but after pumping it up to 100-110psi and letting it sit for 15 minutes, it seems to have sealed up everywhere. There was a very faint *pop* when I assume the bead popped into place, but nothing like I'm used to.

changingleaf
    That rim has a fairly narrow bead seat and the bead diameter is not particularly large. There are other variables as well, but for for these reasons the tire may not snap on as forcefully.

Regardless it shouldn't be very easy to burp at 80 psi unless you run it up the side of a curb. I don't see how you'd be able to burp it with your thumb at that psi unless your pump is way off. Or, what I have noticed is that air is trapped between the outside of the bead and the side of the tire and you can push the side of the tire away from the bead hook enough to let that small around of air escape. A true burp happens with the tire bead is pushed off of the rims bead seat and into the center channel of the rim enough to let air escape.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2015