RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2004

Continental GP4000 23 mm vs. 25 mm, any thoughts ?

I have been using various Conti tires for 10+ years, great tires for me (210 pounds) on 2 diff bikes and several diff wheels. Always had 23 mm (other than Attack / Force combos, which are a little diff). GP 4000 also come in 25 mm, anyone have any comments, better, worse, or indifferent, about 25 mm vs. 23 mm. I ride on good roads, don't have many flats (and most aren't pinch flats), so flatting isn't really an issue, I am more curious about how the size might affect the ride, and rolling resistance, or if the difference in size even makes a noticeable difference.

Thanks,
    Doug

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2004

I was apparently blind and didn't notice earlier post on this topic

OK, shoot me

I now see that there was an earlier that addressed this topic, not specifically these tires, but the topic of 23 mm vs. 25 mm tires. If anyone has anything to add, thanks much. If not, it seems like those few who replied to the earlier post like the end result of switching to the 25 mm size.

Thanks,
    Doug

Big is relative
    Quote Originally Posted by DBtheCyclist
    OK, shoot me

I now see that there was an earlier that addressed this topic, not specifically these tires, but the topic of 23 mm vs. 25 mm tires. If anyone has anything to add, thanks much. If not, it seems like those few who replied to the earlier post like the end result of switching to the 25 mm size.

Thanks,
    Doug
    Conti is selling a 700X24 GP for 2009. www.probikekit.com had them for a pretty good price (if they are in stock). That should end the discussion for now.
    Retired sailor

RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2004

Haven't seen 2009 Grand Prix tires on probikekit for some time.