Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member

Directional tread on tires?

I installed some Panaracer TGs on my commuter bike a couple of weeks ago but removed them after two days because my bike felt so much slower. Actually, it wasn't just a feeling -- my average speed those two days was about 2 mph slower than usual.

I got to looking at the Panaracers over the weekend and realized that they have a directional arrow on the sidewalls. They actually are supposed to be mounted with the tread facing a certain direction -- the opposite of how I had installed them. I always install my tires so the decal lines up with the valve on the quick release side of my bike, so I can more easily locate holes in tubes when I get a flat. Turns out that the tread was facing backwards when I mounted the tires my usual way.

I've never used bike tires before than had directional treads. Is this common? I've always used Michelins and other tires without much tread and no directional requirements. BTW, my bike definitely rolled a lot smoother and faster with the tires turned the right way.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2005

Tread patterns are non-directional because they are also non-functional

Quote Originally Posted by tarwheel2
    I've never used bike tires before than had directional treads. Is this common? I've always used Michelins and other tires without much tread and no directional requirements. BTW, my bike definitely rolled a lot smoother and faster with the tires turned the right way.
    Tread patterns on bicycle tires meant for pavement are primarily cosmetic. Unlike relatively wide, low pressure tires found on motor vehicles, the narrow high pressure tires found on bicycles can not hydroplane (well, at least not at speeds you are ever likely to see on a bike), and therefore the tread patterns on bicycle tires serve no function. Therefore, bicycle treads are not directional.

DragonFly rider
    Dec 2005

Question Not directional