Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Aug 2004

I keep busting wheelsets. rant.

I've been riding bikes since way back in the 1980's and let me say that I am so tired of buying wheelsets. I weigh in at 210 lbs and use my carbon fiber bicycle for club riding, some sprinting, climbing, and fun rides.
    I've gone through Neuvation M28's (the rear wheel tacoed on me while riding 16mph on flats), Mavic CXP22's (the rim cracked a hole near the eyelet), and the latest is the Mavic Ksyrium Equipe (developed hairline cracks in 5 eyelets). I may add that at least Neuvation replaced the wheels for free.

My next purchase looks to be the Pure commuter wheelset with 32 holes triple cross spokes front and rear. I'm so sick of replacing wheels and loosing out on riding time. The Pure commuter is found at Bicycle Wheel Warehouse. Rant over.
    Pure Commuter + Shimano hubs
    With people like Peter P. around, I am done posting on this website. Mean people have driven me off after 9 plus years. Good luck newbies beware.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2007
    You might want to consider picking up a cheap wheel truing stand, tensiometer, and spoke wrench. The key to spoke, rim, and nipple longevity is having correct spoke tension. Even if you aren't going to build your own wheels, you can go over your wheels to get them in optimal condition and if you break a spoke, you can replace it with ease.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by Hooben View Post
    I've been riding bikes since way back in the 1980's and let me say that I am so tired of buying wheelsets. I weigh in at 210 lbs and use my carbon fiber bicycle for club riding, some sprinting, climbing, and fun rides.