Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2013

info on general tire info needed.

hey guys. since im new to roadie side of things. can someone please give me some info or a good link to learn about the wheel/tires?

i see guys referencing numbers. tire widths etc. etc.
    im lost. lol

any help would be great

RoadBikeReview Member
    Good old Sheldon's site, RIP. Loads of other excellent stuff there. Something in particular you're looking for?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2013
    ok got it. thanks. i read that link. all makes sense. didnt realize they were just using mm mostly.

RoadBikeReview Member
    just buy Continental 4000s for clinchers (700x23). If you want 'exotic' clinchers get the Continental attack/force combo (front and rear specific tires, 700x22 and 700x24). If you want to be trendy, buy 4000s in 700x25 but only if you have wide rims. Buy them from a UK site on sale or amazon for the attack/force.

That's all you need to know. Seriously. That will save you hours of 'research' that could be better spent riding your bike!

RoadBikeReview Member
    This one brand tire for all people is nonsense. All you have to do to make sure you get a decent tire for a decent price is to shop the big cycling internet stores like Performance Bike and Nashbar (their both the same company but have different products) Go to the tire section select sort by percent off, then find tires with the best reviews. Doing it that way will save you at the very least a third of the cost of a Continental 4000s and most of todays tires will last at least as long, ride just as good, be just as puncture resistant has a Conti and maybe better then a Conti.

Reading reviews on various tires will give you all the insight you need to know about how good a particular brands model is. Don't rely on one review though, make sure it has at least five.