RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2009

J2 Velosport wheels

So I've been riding for several years, got into racing this year. I'm small (5'3", 120) and love climbing. Well, love may be overstating it, but I'm certainly built for it and seem to go up better than some (as opposed to time trialing, at which I'm worse than almost all). Good thing, too, since I live in Colorado.

Been looking at wheelsets. The name brands are really spendy, even used. Then I found J2 Velosport J2-50 Carbon Tubular Wheelsets. Essentially, they're somewhat heavier 303s, but still quite a bit lighter than my Fulcrum 5s, more aero, tubular, etc. And only $750 for the set, putting me around $1,100 all in (wheels, cassette, tires, tire goo) vs. $2,300 for new 303s alone.

Anyone have any experience with these wheels? I figure the rims are Chinese, maybe built by the guy in Palatine (who has been very responsive to my questions). All things being equal, these wheels split the difference weight-wise between my Fulcrums and 303s, at a third the price of the new 303s. Not looking for anyone to tell me why I absolutely must ride the new Firecrest shape (sorry, not gonna spend two large on wheels unless they come with a Swedish masseuse), just some feedback on J2.

Thanks!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Dec 2009
    Can't give you feedback specifically on those wheels.
    I am 5'8" 140 lbs and also decent at climbing and terrible at TT.
    First off do you really want tubulars?
    I am thinking 50mm deep rims are not ideal for climbing but will help on flats at higher speeds.
    However you might be fighting them in crosswinds.
    If it was me I would probably go with the 38mm.
    The J2 web site says the spokes are bladed straight pull, I would ask what brand they are.
    Also they might be a pain to replace.
    The hubs are lower end but not necessarily bad.