Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Mar 2003

Maxxis padrone tubeless

Looking at some new tubeless tire offerings. The Maxxis Padrone tubeless tire retails for $120 a piece, they are cheaper online but the lowest price i found was $99. Seems a little crazy, a Hutchinson fusion 3 or atom is only about $75 retail and can be found much cheaper. Just had to point this out to any tubeless owners

MWT
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2002
    I've noticed the same thing. I'd like to give them a try, but not at that price. I sure hope they aren't rebadged Hutchinsons.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2008
    Yes, the price a bit high. I've been riding Padrone prototypes for almost two years now, and I'm completely sold on tubeless road. I can say the same for Rory Sutherland. Hopefully the marketplace will have some influence, and the price will come down. I, for one, would like to see more people give the Padrone a shot.

They definitely aren't rebadged Hutchinsons. They are made in the Maxxis Taiwan factory, and each tire is X-rayed to inspect for voids or other imperfections.

Disclaimer - I work for Maxxis.

MWT
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Nov 2002
    Good to hear from a Maxxis employee.

How would you characterize the difficulty in mounting a Padrone (as compared to a Fusion 2 or 3)?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by MWT
    Good to hear from a Maxxis employee.

How would you characterize the difficulty in mounting a Padrone (as compared to a Fusion 2 or 3)?
    I would say about the same. The tolerances on the beads are extremely tight, and both Hutchinson and Maxxis use the same carbon fiber material. So it's pretty similar.