RoadBikeReview Member
    Oct 2014

SRAM XD-R (12 speed road standard) ?

I've been running Shimano 11 speed for several years now and haven't paid much attention to anything related to SRAM.

That is until recently when I bought a new SRAM 1x gravel bike and decided to buy a set of aftermarket wheels for it.

The bike (Norco Search XR Force 1) came stock with a set of WTB Frequency wheels with a SRAM XD Driver and XG-1180 (10-42) rear cassette.

The aftermarket wheels I bought were Boyd Jocassee's, and I ordered them with White Industries CLD Hubs with an "XD" driver and an additional Shimano 11 Speed driver in case I decide to convert the bike, or want to use the wheels on one of my other bikes.

I bought a second SRAM XG-1180 cassette to install in the new wheels and when I mounted it on the bike, immediately noticed a slight wobble in the cassette. Not sure if this was a hub issue or something else, I emailed Boyd. He informed me that the White Ind CLD "XD" driver is actually an 'XD-R' (XD Road) driver, which is 1.8mm wider than the standard 11 speed XD driver, and that I needed to add a 1.8mm spacer between the cassette and the hub to properly tighten and align the cassette.

I did this. Unfortunately, it didn't resolve my 'wobble' issue, which turned out to be a deformed inner ring on the cassette (which is being returned for warranty replacement). It did however improve the shifting/indexing (no surprise there).

Anyway, apparently this new(?) XDR (XD Road - presumably to allow for 12 speed cassettes on road bikes ?) standard isn't totally new. I found some references to it online back in late 2016. What's strange is, despite having developed what is effectively a 12 speed road cassette driver, they have not developed a cassette for it. So far, only 3T has done that, presumably it is the basis for the 3T Strada road bike, which would likely benefit from having a 12 speed cassette, seeing as it does not support a front derailleur.