RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2005

Thumbs down through axle wheels?

So I am considering a new bike, domane w disc brakes, and it has through axle wheels. It comes with paradigm comp wheels, I could upgrade to Bontrager pro 3 carbon wheels.

I am concerned about cross winds on 35 rim depth. I doubt I will notice the aero benefit, i am old and don't race.
    Any opinions out there?

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2017
    I have a Domane SLR8 with rim brakes ( paradigm comp wheels). They are light, spin up quick and feel fast.
    I aggree that you will notice little areo benifits, but the depth should be no problem on the pro 3's and they do have the "cool" factor.
    I'd go for it on an upgrade.
    The Domane is an awesome bike BTW. Go for it.

RoadBikeReview Member
    May 2010
    Just test ride it on a windy day.
    I have no experience with those or any 35mm rims but body weight is also a factor so even if I or any stranger on the internet did you should take it with a grain of salt.

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Why the 'thumbs down' in your thread title? You don't even have the bike yet, how would you know? As for advice, none of us know you so how could we provide any solid advice? I doubt 3's would be any problem in windy conditions, they're a pretty small section.
    I work for some bike racers
    I've got some bikes, some guns,
    and a bunch of skateboards

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jan 2005
    the thumbs down was operator error. I like the bike! not sure about the disc brakes. It is hilly here, they are super nice on the descents, heavy on the uphill. expensive. the thru axle is also an issue, not compatible with some roof racks, can't use my other wheels. I am considering getting the paradigm elite wheels to save some weight. I weigh 150-155 lbs these days. I also like the the 32mm tires, they ride great! kind of a hold onto the past or embrace the new world decision...

JSR
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2006