Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    bas
    RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2004

Tire Size? 23/25/28mm?

What happened? I've been riding 23mm since like 2002, and 25mm was for heavier people, now new Trek Bikes come with 28mm ?

What did I miss being out of touch for so long?

(2003 Trek Madone 5.2)

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2017
    I'm in the same boat as you are, man. I got into riding in 2002 and quickly got pretty seriously into it, but had to stop around 2008. Just now getting back into it and so much has changed. Don't worry too much about it, though- my old bike still does plenty fine. It's funny to take a bike currently valued at around $500 on a hilly century and finish over 2 hours in front of a guy about my same age on a $12,000 Pinarello. Don't believe all the new marketing hype, though some things are worth a try. Everything in moderation!

RoadBikeReview Member
    Quote Originally Posted by TDFbound View Post
    It's very satisfying to take a bike currently valued at around $500 on a hilly century and finish over 2 hours in front of a guy about my same age on a $12,000 Pinarello.
    Fixed.

I remember a couple of years ago, a delicious moment when I toasted a 30 something guy with $3,000 zip carbon wheels climbing this steep hill while I was on an entry level wheel set. He had a look on his face like "that old geezer passed me?!?!?!"

You can't buy speed. It's all in the engine.
    “Statistics are like bikinis. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.” -- Aaron Levenstein

"Beware of geeks bearing formulas."
    -- Warren Buffett

"Education is what you get when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get when you don't. -- Pete Seeger

'brifter' is a lame word.
    Quote Originally Posted by bas View Post
    What happened? I've been riding 23mm since like 2002, and 25mm was for heavier people, now new Trek Bikes come with 28mm ?

What did I miss being out of touch for so long?

(2003 Trek Madone 5.2)