RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012

what is a good beginner wheelset?

I've had my roadie for 4 years now and as I am getting much more serious about my riding, I would like to start upgrading certain components starting with my wheelset. Currently I have the Bontrager lite on my Madone 5.2

I spoke with my local bike shop and he recommended Hed Adriennes CL. I have read alot of about them and them seem like a great wheelset.

My question to you is this: Is there a comparable wheelset at a less expensive price? Or is there a better wheel at a very comparable price? The store told me $800 for the set. I am still relatively new to riding but have signed up for a few rides / tours in 2012 and want to join a couple of races in 2013.

I appreciate any information you are willing to provide.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jul 2010
    That seems like a good price on the HED's and it's a nice wheelset. How much do you weigh and how hard are you on equipment? The reason I ask the second question is I've seen guys the same weight and one break spokes and the next guy not have any issues with the same wheels.

A wheelist
    We don't know what you weigh.

Try -

http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com...-/prod_34.html

- plus the same set but with Podium build (CX-Ray spokes - $500)

http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com.../prod_149.html
    Mike T's home wheelbuilding info - dedicated to providing Newby wheelbuilder information and motivation.

I'm not cranky; I just have a violent reaction to stupid people.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Apr 2012
    Thanks guys. My weight is about 230 lbs. My hope is to bring that down with more riding.

A wheelist
    Quote Originally Posted by Madone 2012 View Post
    Thanks guys. My weight is about 230 lbs. My hope is to bring that down with more riding.