RoadBikeReview Member

Wheelset for a 200lb + rider

Morning all.

Im in the process of procuring parts for my next bike.

I'm wondering what kinds of suggestions you may have for a wheel set for clydesdales.

I don't race crits. I do the odd Tri, and TT, but mostly just ride for enjoyment. I average about 5000 km per year.

Suggestions?

I've been looking at America Classic 420s, but Im not sure that they're the best bet.

Thanks.

RoadBikeReview Member
    Jun 2004
    Well, I'm going through the same questions. I've been running some Mavic Cosmic Equipes for about 5 years, and they are very strong, but kind of heavy, and the bladed spokes are now all turned and creaking, but still true. The tensions are no longer equal. Signs of death for wheels.

I think what I may do is go back to a more traditonal wheelset and build up some 32h DA hubs I have with Mavic CXP33 rims and 14g straight-gauge in back and 14/15 butted in front, with brass nips. I've tried to run butted spokes in back before and found they weren't heavy duty enough. I've never had a problem with lighter duty front wheels. the CXP33 rims are semi aero, but the real advantage to that shape is strength.

Regular spokes make for no-hassle fixes as I can get a spoke at any shop. Also, easier to true should the need arise than the paired spoke, G3, or otherwise on-standard lacing patterns.

brewster

RoadBikeReview Member
    Feb 2002

Simple answer